Skip to content

Nerd Poetry

April 4, 2013

Okay… consider this the relaunch of my participation in Theme Thursdays.  Don’t call it a comeback.  Although, mama DID in fact say knock you out.  So, as instructed, I’m going to knock you out.  (Those last two sentences are what LL Cool J would sound like if he were an uncool paralegal or something) So, this Thursday’s theme is to create an acrostic poem.  In other words, one of those horrible annoying things you were supposed to do in school where the first letters of each line make words.  The idea is to make something so bad, it’s good.  We learned this sort of thinking from hipsters.  So, without further ado… here is my nerdy take on the acrostic poem.

This poem is an homage to the world’s greatest plumber.  As my title bar indicates, I have a special place in my heart for the plumbing community.

Super Plumbersupermario

Sneaking around in levels and castles.

Uncovering treasure, no matter the hassles.

Plumbing must be one tricky profession,

Escaping the wrath of that turtle’s obsession!

Rescue the princess, before it’s too late!

Might this be a trap, and she just the bait?

After level upon level only reveals,

Ridiculous monsters and more mushroomy meals,

In the end, you will save her, the princess of lore!

Or at least, temporarily.  (There are sequels galore)

  

Okay, folks.  I feel like a dairy farmer after producing that much cheese.  Until next time, I’ll see you in the comments. Check out other acrostic nightmares by clicking the scribbly link below!

 

 

 

From → Blogs

18 Comments
  1. JennSomethingClever permalink

    The best part about this? When I got the email notifying me that you linked up, my phone played the sound where Mario eats the red mushroom and grows tall.

  2. Man… Super Mario bros was the bomb diggity back in the day. I still remember the day I finished it. Proudest moment of my life.

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    • One of my biggest gaming addictions as a kid was Mario Bros. Not Super. Just plain ol’ Mario Bros. That shit predates the NES, yo!

  3. I LOVE this! Obviously I’m old cuz I’ve been playing Super Mario Brothers since 4th grade

  4. I lost two years of my adolescence to Mario. I can dig this post. Hard. Love it, and you did a great job.

  5. Super Mario Brothers! Yesssss!

    • I was going to mention Sonic in the poem somewhere, but I didn’t. I just feel kinda bad for Sonic. Mario keeps coming out with awesomeness… meanwhile modern Sonic games are complete crap.

      • My kids love Sonic, they watch the cartoon and have some of the games on XBox. I don’t know how good they are, I don’t pay attention.

        • Whoa, whoa, whoa. Which cartoons do they watch?! Because if it’s Sonic Underground, you really should watch an episode with them. The three main characters, Sonic, Manic, and Sonia, are all voiced by Jaleel White. That’s right… Urkel. All three main characters are Urkel. He was also the voice of Sonic in the first 2 Sonic cartoons that came out… but there’s something especially hilarious about him voicing three characters simultaneously using, essentially, a squeaky Urkel voice.

  6. nice job!! you rhymed it and everything! color me impressed. 🙂

    • Thank you! I kicked around the idea of doing multiple poems when I started this thing. Like doing a Star Wars one. I even started one for K-I-R-K O-R P-I-C-A-R-D. In the end, though, the acrostic was just too annoying, and I settled for one polished S-U-P-E-R M-A-R-I-O one instead.

  7. I have a serious crush on Mario. Just sayin’

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Lunarbaboon | The ComiX Scene
  2. Blogging Lessons: Final Lesson | CrakGenius

Leave a Reply

