Skip to content

Updated: A Sad Day For Yours Truly

June 29, 2012

This is another one of those atypical humorless blogs… be forewarned.

For those of you who know me personally, or for those of you who have bothered to click on the More About Me page, you know that I have been blogging for over two years now on a fantasy sports website.  That is over and done with, as now my fantasy sports website is dead.

Over the last 6 months, the webmaster has graduated from Ohio State, and slowly become less and less involved in the website.  Frankly, I get that.  I know how this sort of thing goes.  Real life gets in the way, and the things you truly enjoy doing become smaller and smaller portions of your life.  But, without his input, the site was slowly dying.  My particular area of expertise is in fantasy football and fantasy basketball.  I don’t really DO fantasy baseball at all, because I know my limits and fantasy baseball requires an ENORMOUS amount of statistical data to digest.  This means that the span of time between the beginning of the NBA playoffs and the time fantasy football teams begin drafting (usually sometime around early July), I am pretty much no longer contributing to the website.

The drop in traffic on that site has been noticeable.  The message boards, once flooded with question-and-answer threads where numerous active members took part in the discussions, slowly became less and less busy, as question after question went unanswered.  If the site could just EXIST until fantasy football began, things would be okay.  Because the number of people doing fantasy football eclipses all other fantasy sports put together.  I had been working nightly on a series of blogs to kick off the fantasy football season, which I intended to launch the day after the NBA draft.  Last night was the NBA draft.  Today I found that the site no longer exists.

Instead, I was greeted with some Godaddy.com page telling me that the page I was looking for had decided not to pay their annual fees and so, yeah, good luck with all that.  Also, a picture of Danica Patrick in a Godaddy.com t-shirt, which is no consolation at all really.  I was disheartened.  Partly because this was the website where I had been invited to begin blogging again; where my love of sports had met with my love of writing; where the webmaster had actually SUGGESTED that I put one of the blogs I had written in a personal blog, which led to the very blog you’re reading today.  And partly because I had written a series of 5 blogs, each of which were over 1000 words, to help drive traffic back to a website which now no longer existed, and therefore I no longer had any reason to have written them in the first place.

So, that’s done.  Mostly I’m disappointed that all those things I wrote and published over the past two years are now gone in a poof of digital smoke.  It’s almost like it never existed in the first place.  On the one hand, I sort of want to find another sports site looking for an author.  On the other, my rational side says consolingly, “It’s over, man.  Let it go.”

Okay, then.  It’s over.  And I’m letting go.  But I’m not happy about it.

UPDATE: Okay, then! It’s NOT over!  I don’t have to let go, and I’m happy about that!  After some emailing back and forth between myself and the webmaster, he has decided to renew the site for another year.  I posted my first fantasy football blog… so that’s good.  And I started going through the archives and saving my favorites so I could reference them later.  Now, at least, I have one year to turn this fantasy sports site around, or find another creative outlet for my sports blogs.

From → Blogs

4 Comments
  1. Glad to hear it worked out! And you have a whole year to think about where you will go when it does end. 🙂

  2. Exactly… July 1st 2013. So, if I forget the date, I can reference this blog and know exactly when the renewal date is. Anyway, I am glad to have my other blog to write on. It’s silly, I know, to many of you, but I have really enjoyed having that outlet for my writing for a number of reasons. Mainly, because I was ASKED to blog there. I didn’t just start a blog. The webmaster saw my writing and my knowledge on the subject of fantasy sports and ASKED me if I would be interested in blogging on the site. That was kind of a big deal for me. Sure, I wasn’t getting paid, but still it was a form of validation for my writing. And I loved that! Don’t worry, though. I won’t ignore THIS blog just because I also have that one.

    • Being asked to blog is a big deal! I would be siked too!

      Of course, in a perfect world, we would all be paid in candy.

      • CANDY! Dang… I wish I had thought of that. Now I feel like the guy from that gum commercial who pouts and says, “nobody ever pays me in gum.” Because… seriously… nobody ever pays me in candy.

Leave a Reply

